MAC Velvet Teddy Lipstick Review and Swatch | Lipstick Monday!

IMG_7541

MAC Velvet Teddy. I’m sure you all know the shade I am talking about! This lipstick caused a real stir earlier on in the year when a certain Jenner sister credited it in achieving her plumped up pout.  It was out of stock just about everywhere.  Now, I don’t know if you are like me but I just had to have it.  Not because I particularly liked the look of the colour, but because it was so popular.  Yes, I know.  I really should become less of a brand floozie! I can honestly say though, I have learnt a valuable lesson in buying this lipstick….and that is not to do it again! Velvet Teddy just does not suit me and my colouring.  I decided to wear it today to see if my mind could be changed but unfortunately it can’t.  I just don’t like it!

MAC Velvet Teddy Lipstick Review Swatch

Velvet Teddy has such a lovely name, and does suit the colour but I would say this was more 90’s girlband brown.  It is a nude brown shade with slight pink undertones.  I think this lipstick would look stunning on darker skin tones but for me and my pale skin it just did nothing.  It made my face look very flat.

MAC Velvet Teddy Lipstick Review Swatch

Velvet Teddy is a matte finish, and lasted for a good 5 hours on me.  It did not budge with drinking and only minimally with eating.  It was not particular easy to apply to the contours of my lips, but that said matte lipsticks are generally like this.  I guess this is the cost you pay for looking good for longer! As you can see from the swatch above, it builds well and is opaque with two swatches.

MAC Velvet Teddy Lipstick Review and Swatch

I bought Velvet Teddy in the summer, but wanted to try it out a few times before giving you my Pretty Honest review.  Personally speaking, it just does not work for me, but one thing is for sure, I am quite envious of all who can make this lipstick work for them, as on the right person this shade is beautiful, as evident by Kylie Jenner and those lips!

MAC Velvet Teddy is widely available from MAC counters both in-store and online, priced at £15.50.

MAC Velvet Teddy Lipstick Review Swatch

Have you tried this colour? Did it live up to the hype for you? I would love to hear from you, even it it may make me jealous!

Talk to you all soon x

prettyhonestbeautyblog.com

6 thoughts on “MAC Velvet Teddy Lipstick Review and Swatch | Lipstick Monday!

  1. Sometimes with some lippies I find that if I change the lip liners (maybe slightly pinky or darker brown) those lippies that I thought did not suit, start to look awesome lol. Try it! X

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: NARS Steven Klein Killer Heels Lipstick Coffret Set | Lipstick Monday! | prettyhonestbeautyblog

Leave a comment