Nars Barbarella Lipstick – Review

IMG_4656

It appears that us Nars fans are in good company.  The makeup artists behind hit show Mad Men use Nars Barbarella lipstick to create Betty Drapers everyday look. Being a big fan of the show myself, when I discovered this I couldn’t help but buy it.  Well…If it makes Don Draper swoon it’s worth every penny!!

This lipstick is from the satin collection from Nars. They promise that these lipsticks are enriched with Vitamin E, have a satin finish, are long wearing and infused with lip conditioners to provide comfortable wear and give a lovely smooth silky colour. In fact, these lipsticks have patented blends of conditioners and antioxidants that make these extra special.

The colour is an orange peach toned lipstick that is very buildable- one slick gives a lovely glossy sheen whilst two to three gives a peachy colour that is surprisingly flattering against my fair skin tone and dark hair.

IMG_4618

The swatches below show how this colour transfers.  The top swatch is one layer, the bottom is two.

IMG_4659

This lipstick lasts for about 2-3 hours which I feel is quite standard. It is a very pretty colour and personally speaking is surprisingly easy to carry off for being a coral shade! If you are looking to add a peach / coral shade to your collection then I would recommend this one!

This is my first Nars lipstick and I am very impressed with it’s finish.  This particular lipstick is sheer – I usually favour matte lipsticks for longevity but this certainly packs a punch in it’s own way.

This lipstick is 3.4g and priced at £20 from Nars counters nationwide.

Like any other beauty addict I have my eye on my next colour already – Nars Dolce Vita.  Can you recommend any other lipsticks from the Nars collection to try? I would love to hear from you.

Talk to you all soon x

pretty honest

8 thoughts on “Nars Barbarella Lipstick – Review

Leave a comment